Joint meeting of the French Conference of Rectors (CPU) and ČKR at VŠE

7 Sep

On Friday, September 8, 2017, a CPU board meeting will be held at the University of Economics, Prague (VŠE), along with representatives of the Czech Conference of Rectors as part of the Action Plan of the French-Czech Strategic Partnership for the period 2014-2018, signed by the Prime Ministers of both countries. The visit is organized in cooperation with the French Embassy in Prague.

University cooperation between France and the Czech Republic is exceptionally intense. In 2016, a total of 993 Czech students of public universities were sent to study at one of the French universities and 1,444 French students were admitted to the Czech schools. Regarding pedagogues, in 2015, 815 Czech teachers were sent to France and Czech public universities hosted 289 French teachers.

VŠE has an extraordinary relationship with France. The French-Czech Institute of Management (IFTG) has been operating since 1990 and offers the MBA programme in cooperation with the Université Jean Moulin Lyon 3, iaelyon, School of Management. Rector of the Université Jean Moulin Lyon 3 Prof. Jacques Comby is a member of the CPU’s board and as well as he is responsible for international relations. Rector of VŠE Prof. Hana Machková is the holder of the highest French state honors (Order of the Legion d’Honneur) and has been the IFTG Director since the very beginning. That is why it was logical that the meetings of the rectors of both countries would take place at the University of Economics, Prague.

Representatives of 12 universities: AMU, AVU, CULS, Masaryk University, University of Hradec Králové, University of Pardubice, Charles University, UTB, VŠE, VŠCHT, VŠUP and ZČU are attending the meeting. The main presentation will be held by three Vice-Presidents of the Czech Republic, Jan Hančil (AMU), Mikuláš Bek (Masaryk University) and Prof. Karel Melzoch (VŠCHT).

The French delegation will be led by CPU President Prof. Gilles Roussel (Université de Marne la Vallée). Other attendees will be rectors from the following universities: Université Paris Nanterre, Université de Picardie – Jules Verne, Université Charles de Gaulle (Lille 3), COMUE Lyon, Université Jean Moulin (Lyon 3), COMUE héSam, Université de Bretagne Occidentale, Université de Nantes, Université de Nîmes and CPU Bruxelles (Emeritus Rector of the Université de Créteil).

Given that a major reform of higher education is taking place in France and the amendment to the Act on Higher Education has just been put into practice in the Czech Republic, both representations will have a number of topics for exchange of experience and a rich discussion.

After the meeting, rectors are invited to a reception at the French Embassy, ​​where they will be welcomed by Ambassador Roland Galaraghue.